How to install Citrix Receiver icaclient in Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit – tested and working using Mozilla Firefox

Posted: 2014/06/27 in Ubuntu
Tags: , , , , , ,

##########################################################################################
# install Citrix Receiver icaclient in Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit – tested and working using Mozilla Firefox
# source 1: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2181903
# source 2: http://blog.vinnymac.org/?p=351
# source 3: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CitrixICAClientHowTo

# Citrix Receiver feature matrix:

# https://www.citrix.com/content/dam/citrix/en_us/documents/products-solutions/citrix-receiver-feature-matrix.pdf
##########################################################################################

# Copy-paste each command below one by one into the Linux Terminal
# Hit the <ENTER> key after each Terminal command.

cd $HOME
mv $HOME/.ICAClient $HOME/.ICAClient_save 
sudo dpkg -P icaclient
rm -rf foo
sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386 # only needed once
sudo DEBIAN_FRONTEND=noninteractive apt-get update
sudo DEBIAN_FRONTEND=noninteractive apt-get --yes --force-yes install firefox apt-file git nspluginwrapper lib32z1 libc6-i386 libxml2:i386 libstdc++6:i386 libxerces-c3.1:i386 libcanberra-gtk-module:i386 libcurl3:i386 libasound2-plugins:i386 libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-0:i386 openssl ca-certificates
sudo apt-file update --architecture i386
sudo apt-file update --architecture amd64
git clone https://github.com/CloCkWeRX/citrix-receiver-ubuntu-fixed.git foo
find foo/opt/Citrix/ICAClient/ -exec file {} ';' | grep "ELF" | grep "executable" > ica_elf_list
cat ica_elf_list | while read f; do arch=$(echo "$f" | grep -o '..-bit' | sed 's/32-bit/i386/' | sed 's/64-bit/amd64/'); file=$(echo "$f" | awk '{print $1}' | sed 's/://g'); ldd "$file" | sed "s/^/$arch/g"; done | sort | uniq > ica_so_list
cat ica_so_list | awk '{print $4}' | grep '^/' | sort | uniq | while read f; do dpkg -S "$f"; done > ica_deb_list
cat ica_deb_list | awk '{print $1}' | sed 's/:$//g' | sort | uniq > ica_deb_list_final
cat ica_so_list | grep "not found" > ica_so_missing
cat ica_so_missing | while read f; do arch=$(echo "$f" | awk '{print $1}'); file=$(echo "$f" | awk '{print $2}'); apt-file find -x "$file$" -a $arch | sed "s/: /:$arch provides /g"; done > ica_missing_packages
cat ica_missing_packages | awk '{print $3}' | sort | uniq | while read provided; do providers=$(grep "provides $provided" ica_missing_packages | awk '{print $1}'); count=$(echo $providers | wc -w); selected=$providers; if [ $count -gt 1 ]; then echo "Multiple packages can provide $provided, please select one:" >&2; select selected in $providers; do break; done < /dev/tty; echo "You selected $selected" >&2; fi; echo $selected; done > ica_selected_packages
missing=$(cat ica_selected_packages | awk '{print $1}'); sudo DEBIAN_FRONTEND=noninteractive apt-get  --yes --force-yes   install $missing
cat ica_elf_list | while read f; do arch=$(echo "$f" | grep -o '..-bit' | sed 's/32-bit/i386/' | sed 's/64-bit/amd64/'); file=$(echo "$f" | awk '{print $1}' | sed 's/://g'); ldd "$file" | sed "s/^/$arch/g"; done | sort | uniq > ica_so_list
cat ica_so_list | awk '{print $4}' | grep '^/' | sort | uniq | while read f; do dpkg -S "$f"; done > ica_deb_list
cat ica_deb_list | awk '{print $1}' | sed 's/:$//g' | sort | uniq > ica_deb_list_final
cat ica_so_list | grep "not found" > ica_so_missing
cat ica_so_missing | while read f; do arch=$(echo "$f" | awk '{print $1}'); file=$(echo "$f" | awk '{print $2}'); apt-file find -x "$file$" -a $arch | sed "s/: /:$arch provides /g"; done > ica_missing_packages
# make sure  ica_so_missing file is now empty:
cat ica_so_missing
checked=""; unnecessary=""; unchecked="$(cat ica_deb_list_final) EOF"; while read -d ' ' f <<< $unchecked; do checked="$f $checked"; candidates=$(apt-cache depends "$f" | grep '\sDepends' | awk '{print $2}' | sed 's/[<>]//g'); unchecked="$(for d in $candidates; do if ! grep -q $d <<< $checked; then echo -n "$d "; fi; done) $unchecked"; unchecked="$(echo $unchecked | sed "s/$f //g")"; unnecessary="$(for d in $candidates; do if ! grep -q $d <<< $unnecessary; then echo -n "$d "; fi; done) $unnecessary"; done; for u in $unnecessary; do echo "$u"; done > ica_implicit_dependencies
original=$(cat ica_deb_list_final); for f in $original; do if ! grep -q $f ica_implicit_dependencies; then echo "$f"; fi; done > ica_explicit_dependencies
sed -i 's/grep "i\[0-9\]86"/grep "i\\?[x0-9]86"/g' foo/DEBIAN/postinst
new_depends="$(cat ica_explicit_dependencies | tr '\n' ',') nspluginwrapper"; sed -i "s/^Depends: .*$/Depends: $new_depends/" foo/DEBIAN/control
rm -rf foo/opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts
ln -s /etc/ssl/certs foo/opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts
mkdir -p foo/usr/share/applications
printf '[Desktop Entry]\nName=Citrix ICA client\nComment="Launch Citrix applications from .ica files"\nCategories=Network;\nExec=/opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica\nTerminal=false\nType=Application\nNoDisplay=true\nMimeType=application/x-ica' > foo/usr/share/applications/wfica.desktop
dpkg -b foo icaclient_amd64_fixed_for_14.04_LTS.deb
sudo dpkg -i icaclient_amd64_fixed_for_14.04_LTS.deb
sudo ln -s /usr/share/ca-certificates/mozilla/* /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts
sudo c_rehash /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts/
xdg-mime default wfica.desktop application/x-ica

# Thank you Michael May for reminding me to add the following step:

# Click on the “open menu” icon in the top right corner of the Mozilla Firefox interface.

# Then click on the Add-ons icon

# Click on Plugins and then on “Citrix Receiver for Linux”

# Choose “Always activate” option next to “Citrix Receiver for Linux”

# Attempt to access your Citrix site. If Firefox prompts you to open a .ica file, choose

# to open it with /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica.sh, and tell Firefox to remember that choice.

Comments
  1. ChuckM says:

    It works!! I’ve been wondering when someone with more knowledge than I would definitively solve the problem of running Citrix in 14.04 64-bit.

    For anyone else who may read this, the first two times I tried connecting to my corporate network with Citrix, I got a couple of blank windows. I suspected they were prompting me for input of some kind, but I had already accepted the Citrix EULA so I don’t know what they might have been.

    After a couple of reboots and logins, though, it’s working great. Thank you SO much.

  2. Chris says:

    I tried the above script and it didn’t work for me. When logging into my company through the Citrix login it doesn’t give me the warning to download the client, but when I try to launch an application it doesn’t do anything. No errors or anything. I tried logging in several times and rebooting like ChuckM above but it does not work. Any other suggestions?

    • benatkinson says:

      I had to click a little icon to the left of the address bar to allow citrix. It then ran the .ica but I had an SSL error. I hope that helps.

  3. benatkinson says:

    Anybody get an SSL Error 61?

  4. mark911 says:

    @benatkinson: have you read this Citrix Support doc? https://support.citrix.com/article/CTX101990

  5. mark911 says:

    @benatkinson and Chris: As I wrote in the guide above, I only tested the procedure using Mozilla Firefox in Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit. Are you using the latest version of Mozilla Firefox or a different browser? And are you using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit? I cannot guarantee that this installation procedure will work with anything else than Mozilla Firefox in Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit….

    • benatkinson says:

      Yes. I’m running 14.04 LTS 64. I tried Firefox and Chrome.

      Do you know if the SSL error is a problem with the certificate on my machine or my company’s server?

      Thanks. -Ben

  6. mark911 says:

    @benatkinson: Not sure. I do not have the issue you are experiencing. You could also try connecting using Citrix icaclient v12.1 instead of v13. Maybe your company’s server does not want you to use the latest version of the Citrix client. If 12.1 does not work either, then I suggest contacting the person who manages the server certificates. The Citrix support doc seems to indicate that your company’s server is using a faulty server-side certificate.. “Problem Cause
    SSL Error 61 can occur when the server certificate is not compliant with the instructions in RFC 3280 regarding the Enhanced Key Usage field. According to section 4.2.1.13 of the RFC (Extended Key Usage), if the Extended Key Usage field exists in a certificate, the certificate must be used only for one or more purposes enumerated as values in that field. The relevant portion of RFC 3280 states:”

    • benatkinson says:

      I saw something that recommended using a previous version. I hate to be such a noob, but how do I install an earlier version of the client?
      Very much obliged – Ben

  7. mark911 says:

    @benatkinson: that is explained in source #3 in the procedure above: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CitrixICAClientHowTo

  8. Chris says:

    Weird, I reran it again only this time I had to press enter midway through to continue installation. I also had to click that plugin icon that benatkinson mentioned to launch the apps. Thanks very much mark911 and commenters for the input.

  9. Michael May says:

    I find that you have to go to the settings for Firefox – go to Add-ons Manager – Plug Ins, select Citrix, then select “Always Activate”

  10. Lamar says:

    I followed the instructions…not knowing what I was doing. It didn’t work at first. But after a few re-boots, IT WORKS! This was so critical for me! It is needed for my job. If I could not get this to work, I would have uninstalled Ubuntu, reinstalled Windows 8 and given up on Ubuntu.

    I am so happy it works!

    Thank you.

  11. Pratap says:

    it would have been better if you had a download link for the shell script. When i copied it over, I had to manually change ” ‘ because vi had copied the source charset. Also — was replaced by the –

  12. Claire Wright says:

    Works for me on a fresh install of linuxmint 17 Cinnamon.
    At first when I went to the “Manage add-ons” page the client wasn’t shown, but after restarting Firefox it popped up.
    The first time I tried to use it, it gave me an RDS that was completely blank [black]. I rebooted the computer, and it worked fine the second time. That might have been more to do with the pc at the other end, I can’t tell.
    I remember last time I tried to install Citrix receiver it was a right faff. I was a little nervous about running what appears to be complicated stuff without fully understanding what was going on, but the “risk and trust” approach worked.
    Thank you so much for allyour hard work, and making my life just that little bit easier.

  13. Eric says:

    @benatkinson and for those who have the SSL error 61: try “sudo ln -s /usr/share/ca-certificates/mozilla/* /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts” it worked for me (ref: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CitrixICAClientHowTo)

  14. mark911 says:

    @Eric: Thanks for the help! Procedure above has now been updated with that info.

  15. Ken Fallon says:

    Hi Mark,

    I was informed by Martin Bredthauer, that Citrix have fixed the package now

    Ken

  16. David says:

    Thanks for your efforts, which I greatly appreciate.
    This worked for me. I’m very pleased to have finally connected to work with Ubuntu – as the rest of the family bump me off the Windows computer in the evening.

    (Just in case it is relevant, I did get a system problem, saying there was a problems with the ICA client when I first logged in, which syslog has as follows
    Oct 21 23:20:28 rowan kernel: [ 7499.999502] wfica[21873]: segfault at 0 ip 00000000f59ad265 sp 00000000f61c7810 error 4 in libproxy.so[f59a5000+1a000]
    Oct 21 23:21:04 rowan whoopsie[1040]: Parsing /var/crash/_opt_Citrix_ICAClient_wfica.1000.crash.
    Oct 21 23:21:04 rowan whoopsie[1040]: Uploading /var/crash/_opt_Citrix_ICAClient_wfica.1000.crash.
    none of which means much to me, and anyway, second try it worked and so far it hasn’t broken!)

  17. Did anyone get copy/paste to work to and from the client?

  18. mark911 says:

    @Anders Emil Salvesen: An alternative solution is to use an online notepad.

    http://shrib.com

    http://notepub.com

    It takes around 3 seconds to paste it in, save, switch to remote terminal, and refresh the page.

  19. Ed says:

    Just wanted to say thank you very much.

  20. Joe says:

    Thanks Mark! This helped me a ton!!

  21. slcpunk says:

    now that there is a version 13.1 that is supposed to ( but I’m not having that much luck ) work out of the box … should we still follow these instructions or use the new package?

  22. mark911 says:

    @slcpunk: I have not tested the icaclient_13.1.0.285639_amd64.deb Citrix file yet. So I cannot tell you which procedure is better. I only know that my procedure works good enough for my own business purposes and it has been automated. I am not sure it is possible to put the icaclient_13.1.0.285639_amd64.deb into this script and keep the install fully automated. This is why I prefer to keep the installation procedure as is. It has been tested, works and is (almost fully) automated, but using an older version of Citrix client and using Mozilla Firefox.

    • slcpunk says:

      Mark911-

      Thanks for the reply. Maybe I’ll give it a shot. I have a strange half-working setup now … where I can connect to my citrix apps ( xen apps ) by logging in from firefox, but I can’t run the citrix receiver directly like I have previously.

      the new receiver does seem to handle the remote drive mapping better … before I always would crash the client when trying to access my local files – now that part seems to work.

      oh well … its never dead easy, right?

      thanks again

  23. Pierre says:

    Thank You SOOO Much
    Wonderful job. It worked on my pc at work and at home.
    Thousands kudos Mark911 !

  24. joe says:

    Hello Mark,

    Your list of ‘commands’ got rid of the ‘fragments of windows’ problem I had, which I’m very happy about. It wasn’t usable before. But, I’m still confused.

    I’m new to Linux and didn’t know what to do with your ‘commands’ and had to ask someone for help. His instructions were:

    1. sudo gedit /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica.sh
    2. copy and paste your ‘commands’ into wfica.sh
    3. save and quit gedit

    I asked if I need to remove the current installation of ICAClient, and he said: “The script is to be ran from within Firefox and it will in turn call the ICAClient, so you’ll need that installed. If you remember helper applications, the same is occurring here. You’ll hit a particular site, the browser will recognize this needing something special to run, it will run the script which in turns launches the ICAClient.”

    I was confused because I thought your commands installed ICAClient, not act similar to a “helper application”. But, I was desperate after all the things I tried that didn’t work, so I went ahead and did the following.

    1. gksu nautilus
    2. went to the already exiting /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica.sh and changed it’s name to wfica.sh.old
    3. exit nautilus
    4. sudo gedit /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica.sh
    5. copy and pasted your ‘commands’ into the new wfica.sh file
    6. save and exit gedit
    7. gksu nautilus
    8. used nautilus to change the new wfica.sh to be executable
    9. rebooted
    10. started firefox and went to the site I need the icaclient for and it worked.

    Did I use your commands the way you intended them to be used?
    If not, would you please post the steps of how to use them so a newbie can do it?
    Also, if I didn’t do it right, why did it work?

    Lastly, FYI, I checked what version of ICAClient was installed before and after using your commands. Both times Synaptic Package manager said 12.1.0. I’m using a pretty fresh installation of Ubuntu 14.04. I install ICAClient 12.1 by following the instructions for Citrix Receiver 12.1 on Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CitrixICAClientHowToOlderVersions

    Thanks for posting your solution – Joe

    • mark911 says:

      Hi Joe, That’s not what I intended. You simply need to copy-paste each Terminal command one by one into the Linux Terminal and hit the key after each Terminal command. The remaining steps (navigating to the Plugins) are explained underneath the code above. Regards, Mark

      P.S. If you correctly follow the procedure and install the new icaclient package, the output of apt-cache show icaclient should be as follows: (version 13.0.0.256735 should be installed)

      # apt-cache show icaclient
      Package: icaclient
      Status: install ok installed
      Priority: extra
      Section: utils
      Installed-Size: 23420
      Maintainer: Citrix Systems, Inc.
      Architecture: amd64
      Version: 13.0.0.256735
      Depends: libc6:amd64, libffi6:amd64, libglib2.0-0:amd64, libgstreamer0.10-0:amd64, libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-0:amd64, libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-0:i386, libgtk2.0-0:i386, liblzma5:amd64, libpcre3:amd64, libxaw7:i386, libxerces-c3.1:i386, libxml2:amd64, zlib1g:amd64, nspluginwrapper
      Pre-Depends: debconf (>= 0.5)
      Conffiles:
      /etc/icaclient/nls/ja/appsrv.ini f06da271d7421340e95b7a3dcc500b75
      /etc/icaclient/nls/ja/wfclient.ini 3657621030f15afdf38eea0a3f5d1c26
      /etc/icaclient/nls/ja/module.ini 2cb134f189b3bed39960bc32a0697495
      /etc/icaclient/nls/en/appsrv.ini f06da271d7421340e95b7a3dcc500b75
      /etc/icaclient/nls/en/wfclient.ini bdc85f14bc448a415df22dfd9902510a
      /etc/icaclient/nls/en/module.ini e0b97428730e2d173ec0b02485ac8cbb
      /etc/icaclient/nls/de/appsrv.ini f06da271d7421340e95b7a3dcc500b75
      /etc/icaclient/nls/de/wfclient.ini bdc85f14bc448a415df22dfd9902510a
      /etc/icaclient/nls/de/module.ini a1a21378b8620c37ee87e445cee5ac4b
      /etc/icaclient/config/All_Regions.ini 65d5f8c0cec0bed5baf0352c4391be4a
      /etc/icaclient/config/MediaStreamingConfig.tbl 6193b72ad323883e63696bdc8dab8cef
      /etc/icaclient/config/Untrusted_Region.ini d64e480a1e3aee91388e493986bc50a1
      /etc/icaclient/config/regions.ini 570a6f2df0147af5c1ae574f56a2e0c1
      /etc/icaclient/config/canonicalization.ini cdc3a64aa5173498baca07954cd37cd9
      /etc/icaclient/config/Unknown_Region.ini 6f892e2876e51729f8deb7bb329d0435
      /etc/icaclient/config/Trusted_Region.ini 9eea9fe63c32ddb140c31eee1414dc24
      /etc/icaclient/config/usertemplate/All_Regions.ini 2faa654f9288d72aa23e21d4c30991ab
      /etc/icaclient/config/usertemplate/Untrusted_Region.ini ad4d6e982ec7c3e0297cd27843864281
      /etc/icaclient/config/usertemplate/Unknown_Region.ini 815ed196596fc20d3b250743f91719c1
      /etc/icaclient/config/usertemplate/Trusted_Region.ini 1c2d6356d76110531d85da0548a4953b
      Description: Citrix Receiver for Linux
      Citrix Receiver lets you access your enterprise files, applications, and
      desktops from your favorite device wherever you are. Just ask your IT
      department how to get started.
      Description-md5: 7ccad011937bc647ea1ad6ba6aaa5cad
      Homepage: http://www.citrix.com

      • Joe says:

        Hi Mark. Thanks for clarifying.

        I was premature in saying that what I did worked. It only works for one session and then a reboot is necessary. The second time I go to the site,after a reboot, the ‘fragments of windows’ comes back. Also, I can’t shut down or exit the icaclient window. Logging out of Ubuntu or rebooting Ubuntu is how I’ve had to kill it.

        So, I tried your commands one at a time. Thinking that starting clean would be good, before running your commands I did:
        sudo apt-get purge icaclient
        sudo apt-get autoremove
        then all your commands

        No luck. Same problem after reinstalling icaclient with your commands.

        # apt-cache show icaclient

        Gives the same result as your output.

        It is interesting that it would work for one session after a reboot if I replaced the contents of /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica.sh with your commands, so I replaced wfica.sh contents again and it’s back to working once after a reboot.

        Any ideas? Other than going back to Ubuntu 13.10 (I did have it working then), I think I’ve hit a dead end.

        Thanks again for posting your solution. It’s people like you that make it possible for newbies to get up to speed with Linux.

        Joe

  25. Joe says:

    Hello Mark,

    I’m glad to report that it seems to be working.

    The path to get it working was:
    All my testing had been with Firefox. I installed Google Chrome and it worked. Chrome doesn’t have the “Citrix Receiver for Linux” installed, so it’s a round about way to open the website I use, but it seems consistent.

    That caused me to try Firefox with the Citrix Receiver plugin set to ‘Never Activate’. Then Firefox started working! So then I decided to set the plugin in Firefox back to ‘Always Activate’ and see it it would quit working again. But, it still works!

    So, for me, the steps to get rid of the “fragments of windows” problem were:

    Up to date Ubuntu 14.04 and Firefox 34.0
    Install ICAClient via your solution
    Set Firefox plugin for ICAClient to ‘Always Activate’
    Try using Citrix Receiver and it failed
    Set Firefox plugin for ICAClient to ‘Never Activate’
    Try using Citrix Receiver and it worked
    Set Firefox plugin for ICAClient to ‘Always Activate’
    Try using Citrix Receiver and it still works.

    Joe

  26. Ray says:

    Hi Mark,

    Thanks, this worked for me, but I’m facing a rather strange issue.

    I do not see the top menu/pull down menu on the remote desktop which allows me to minimize window, press ctrl+alt+del.

    Do not see this on mine:

  27. Bram says:

    This worked – thanks a lot!

  28. Hi! This one worked for me, but also the install of 13.1 using their .deb worked without all the scripting and rebuilding of the package.

    The only issue I have using yours and 13.1 is that the mouse pointer is misplaced around 2 o 3cm to the right, so if I open for example Internet Explorer in citrix and want to click in a link, I have to click around 3cm to the right of that link.

    Have any of you faced this error? I’m using Ubuntu 14.04 x64 with gnome classic and compiz.

    Thanks by the way!

  29. Peter Bölke says:

    Hello,

    thanks fpr your script, but i getting an error at line 17

    Syntax error: “do” unexpected (expecting “fi”)

    What is the matter?

    Thanks

    • Gralgrathor says:

      Getting the same error as @Bölke, in the line where you select_missing_packages:

      It fails at “do break; done < /dev/tty;" with a "Syntax error: "do" unexpected (expecting "fi")"

      uname -a sez:
      Linux deskbook072 3.16.0-34-generic #45~14.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Tue Mar 24 11:14:29 UTC 2015 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

  30. mark911 says:

    @Peter: That error should not occur, if every line is correctly copy-pasted into the Linux Terminal (in a bash shell). In each line where there is an if, there should also be a closing fi. That is the case in the code I posted. Please double-check that you copied the whole line, including both if and fi parts of the line. Here is more info on the use of if: http://tldp.org/LDP/Bash-Beginners-Guide/html/sect_07_01.html

    If there really was an error in the long code above, everyone else would be posting the same error message…

  31. Bryan says:

    Mark – Thank you so much for this guide! I have been struggling for a few days with this, always coming close but never getting everything. Followed this, step by step, and it worked perfectly.

    For anyone interested, I am using a Toshiba Chromebook 2 with Crouton installed and KDE/trusty.

    Thanks again!

  32. Gralgrathor says:

    Would it be possible for someone to normalize this into a human-readable shell script?

    I’d do it myself, but it’d cost me an hour or two, and I’m lazy.

  33. mark911 says:

    @Gralgrathor: It does not take an hour. Just 1 minute or so. It already is a bash script. Open a Terminal. Run the command “nano /tmp/script.bash” Copy-paste the script above into nano (text editor). Save change. Run “bash /tmp/script.bash” Done…..

  34. prodigydancer says:

    Mostly works (Xubuntu 14.04 / FF 37.0.2).

    What does not work:
    – Firefox doesn’t have Citrix add-on even after restart.
    – Firefox prompts to install Citrix Receiver (need to skip this step every time).

  35. Pierre says:

    Hello, Just one extra tip for some people who may encounter the same ordeals:
    I had to reinstall Kubuntu and it did not print
    …until I reinstalled HPLIPS, disconnected Citrix and reconnected.
    Again, Thank you mark911 for this excellent job.

  36. amit handa says:

    Thnks mark for your help, 13.1 is running on 14.04 but alt-tab doesnt work in the session window. I have put up a related question:
    https://askubuntu.com/questions/616784/alt-tab-doesnt-work-for-citrix-xenapp-in-full-screen

    appreciate if anyone could chime in!

  37. Pierre says:

    Hi there,
    I upgraded to kubuntu 15.04.
    The list of command above did not work albeit doing it twice.
    I installed icaclient_amd64_fixed_for_14.04_LTS.deb by clicking on it from the Dolphin / Personal folder isn’t it ?
    Mark or some other people, have you experienced this with 15.04 ?

  38. mark911 says:

    @Pierre: Sorry, but I am sticking to LTS releases. I have never installed 14.10 or 15.04. Maybe someone else can give you advice…

  39. Pierre says:

    @mark911: it works with 14.10

  40. Pierre says:

    I used this : http://www.atareao.es/ubuntu/como-instalar-citrix-receiver-en-ubuntu/
    But at the end of it I did the chromium command too, why not take the chance.
    Then I installed Chromium and looked for a Citrix receiver extension. There is one !
    And and installed it : it works.
    I’m not sure that the Spanish were necessary. If anyone cares 😉

  41. Pulli says:

    Works with Linux Mint 17.1! Thank you!

  42. a75576 says:

    Hi, I get the following message:

    Cannot contact server for application “Remote Desktop Connection”
    Server Browser command contains an invalid parameter.
    The server name cannot be resolved.
    [quit]

    I am running ubuntu 14.04 LTS up to date and up to date firefox.

  43. a75576 says:

    Thanks, but seem to work with the normal instructions https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CitrixICAClientHowTo so I might have failed to do one of your steps.

  44. arcane17 says:

    Hello. Thank for your post. Unfortunately, it is not working. Firefox message is “Un plugin est nécessaire pour afficher le contenu” (a plugin is necessary to display content — which probably means “a plugin is missing”‘). I have the following plugin installed: Citrix HDX Plugin (Linux) Version 13.0.0.256735 (/opt/Citrix/ICAClient/wfica) — always activate.

    • mark911 says:

      @arcane17: Maybe your company’s Citrix logon page also requires you to install a Java and/or Adobe Flash plugin which might be missing on your PC. The plugin requirements for a specific company’s website is out of the scope of the document I wrote above. The “plugin is necessary to display content” is very cryptic and does not explain WHICH plugin is missing. I suggest checking with the I.T. administrator who manages your Citrix logon page. It is impossible for me to know beforehand what those custom technical requirements are (except for the standard requirements).

  45. arcane17 says:

    Dear Mark911, thank you very much for your answer. After further investigations, I have concluded that java was missing on ubuntu. I have install openjava 7 with its addon, and citrix connection is running fine. Which makes me think that maybe Citrix was working ok out of the box for me without any additional command line/instruction since this plugin message was the problem from the begining. I will communicate on this if I install on another machine. Thank you anyway.

  46. Brian Williams says:

    Worked for me on Ubuntu 14.04 and Mozilla Firefox! Thanks!

  47. Selwin says:

    Hi all ,
    I am trying to use citrix receiver on Ubuntu 14.04 32bit to connect to Xen server. I followed the instructions from https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CitrixICAClientHowTo .

    After the installation of the receiver when I try to launch the citrix client application and give storefront address, I am seeing the following error.

    “ Your account cannot be added using this server address. Make sure you entered it correctly. You have not chosen to trust the issuer of the server’s security certificate” .

    We did the Mozilla ca-certificates linking also using the command
    Sudo ln –s /usr/share/ca-cerfitificates/Mozilla/* /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts/

    In addition, when we try to connect to the StoreFront from the Firefox browser, it throw up an error “Cannot complete your request. “

    We tried launch the citrix config manager from Command line, “/opt/Citrix/ICAClient/util/configmgr &”
    And on adding the storefront address
    Citrix Receiver Preferences  Accounts  Add and specified the Storefront address, then get the following error
    “Error adding store:AM_ERROR_HTTP_SERVER_CERTIFICATE_NOT_TRUSTED[65150]

    Now not sure on how to proceed on this and looking for some support. … Did you observe something similar; how to fix this issue ?

  48. mark911 says:

    @Selwin: that error message looks like Citrix ICA SSL Error 61. It is possible that you need to manually copy the root certificate and intermediate certificate from the Storefront server and import them into your Mozilla Firefox web browser configuration. If it is unclear how to get those certificates, ask the administrator of that Storefront site.

    Go to the following location in Mozilla Firefox browser after importing those Storefront certificates into Mozilla Firefox:

    Go to Edit > Preferences > Advanced > Certificates and click ‘View certificates’.

    Find the Storefront Root CA certificate and click on it to select it.
    Then click on “Edit trust”
    Enable the checkmark next to all 3 trust settings.

    Perform the same steps for the Storefront Intermediate certificate as well in Mozilla Firefox.

    Furthermore, there was a spelling error in your command related to certificates. Make sure to rerun the following commands by using copy-paste instead of manual typing to avoid spelling mistakes!

    sudo ln -s /usr/share/ca-certificates/mozilla/* /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts/

    sudo c_rehash /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/keystore/cacerts/

  49. selwin says:

    Hi Mark,
    I tried the changes you mentioned; but still its not working. I got root CA certificate; but no intermediate certificates. Is intermediate certificate mandatory ? Storefront admin is new and couldn’t figure out how to get intermediate cerfiticate .

    Regards
    Selwin

  50. FuzzyLeapfrog says:

    This procedure worked great. It was like plug ‘n play or “some kind of magic”. Thx!

    My Laptop:
    $ uname -m
    x86_64
    $ cat /etc/issue
    Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS \n \l

  51. Brian says:

    If I wanted to uninstall this, could I remove the foo directory in root and uninstall the Citrix receiver from the package manager?

    • mark911 says:

      @Brian: The foo directory is not created in the root (/) directory, but in your home directory. Run the following Terminal command to uninstall the icaclient package: sudo apt-get purge icaclient

  52. pierpiotr says:

    Hi Mark,
    Do you think we can use your script on 16.04 LTS ?
    If not, what would you suggest ?

  53. pierpiotr says:

    @mark911, it does not work. I has many error messages and ‘no such files’ during the process. I have the copy of the terminal entries and output if it matters.

  54. JL says:

    After these steps I was getting the SSL 61 error like others have mentioned. I then downloaded and installed the 64bit deb from https://www.citrix.com/downloads/citrix-receiver/legacy-receiver-for-linux/receiver-for-linux-13-2.html. After installing that everything works with chromium

  55. Carlos Henrique Tibo says:

    Congratulation Mark. Your how to is fantastic. Sharing knowledge is one of the noblest action that a human being can have. Congratulations one more time.

    I followed the procedure is Citrix Receiver 13.2 is installed and working. I didnt have problems with certificates and I got a conection correctaly. Only I am missing is the USB redirection in Citrix Receiver 13.2 when on an installation on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit. Knowing that on a Windows machine redirection works when access the Citrix server, which needs to be done to have Linux USB redirection working?

    Do you know if is necessary execute more one procedure?

    Thanks

  56. mark911 says:

    @Carlos: try visiting this website:

    https://www.citrix.com/downloads/citrix-receiver/linux/receiver-for-linux-latest.html

    Then download and install the following Debian packages on that website:

    * Full Package (Self-Service Support)
    Receiver for Linux (x86_64)

    * USB Support Packages
    USB Support Package (x86_64) (ctxusb* file)

    Good luck!

    Hope this helps.

  57. Seal20 says:

    Hi, Got an error SSL 4.

    I can make the latest ICA Client work once a time, but it doesn’t work anymore when user logs out from his Ubuntu 16.04 32 bit station.(Firefox 52)
    Am I alone to get rid with this error SSL 4 ?

  58. afolarin says:

    has anyone manged to get Citrix Receiver 13.5 working on Ubuntu 16.04?
    https://www.citrix.com/downloads/citrix-receiver/linux/receiver-for-linux-latest.html

    • pierpiotr says:

      Yes I did. Some time ago… I went to look for the right Citrix version on their website. Nothing specificto do : I am just a user and not really able to specify any steps I took at the time. It was relatively easy.

Leave a Reply

